Reading and Writing Novels

Doing the Novel Writing course with the London School of Journalism has been very interesting for me; I’m going through a step by step process, learning some of the technical bits of writing stories (the imagination part, the story and its background, I have no need to learn about, lol), how to use the words, how to “use” the characters and situations to explain bits about the world and the story. It brings its own challenges too.

I like dialogue, and I like action, to read. Description of scenery and people I don’t like because part of the magic of reading, for me, is that I can fill in the blanks*. Often a book will describe something but my imagination has already decided what something looks like, and I just can’t shake it off and replace it with something I’m reading. What I’d skip in some books I’m trying not to put too much emphasis in my own writing. Each writer has their own style.

*description of a world in a sort of historical-cultural overview is a different matter.

Leave a Reply

