Finding Wholeness in Other

025 - copia This may seem contradictory, but without Other there can be no wholeness. We find wholeness in some way through Other. As a person I can be whole unto myself, but without the life experience we don’t find wholeness. Much of the life experience is in relation and interaction.

I don’t rely on Other to define who or what I am, or to complete me as a person, but that in my encounter with the Other my experience of life is broadened and made more complete.

We’re social creatures, living in a world where not everything is “me”, nor am I an isolated entity experiencing a mirroring void, but a self in relationship with other selves. Part of the wholeness of human life is in the interaction, relation and communication with a truly distinct Other.

Leave a Reply

