Translating from Catalan

(wow, I’ve just noticed a boost of traffic to this blog. Thanks for the views.)

So, what have I been doing lately? A lot, aikido, walks, gardening, hunting exotic crayfish,  but I’ll leave them for other blogs.

One thing I’ve been busy on is translating the CEN Association website from Catalan to English. CEN is an association that “works for the improvement and conservation of habitats and biodiversity”.  I’ve been involved in several volunteer actions (including “hunting cranks“) as well as being a board member. We  (Biodiversidad2030) signed an agreement with CEN under the Custódia del Territorio (Land Stewardship Scheme in English) to protect the land and its ecosystems and develop projects in a sustainable way for us and the environment.

So, I’m translating the website so it’s accessible to the anglosphere. Moreover, it helps in an application to EOCA to do work for the Glorieta river, such as litter picking, control and eradication of invasive exotic species, regulation of canyoning, restriction of access to vulnerable areas and raising awareness of environmental issues, both local and in general. It’s tough work (I am not a professional translator) but I enjoy it.

I can read Spanish fairly well, and because of that other Romance languages are more accesible, like Portuguese, Italian and Catalan. I can read them a bit and make “educated guesses” at what they’re saying. But to hear them… no entenc res! (I don’t understand a thing!).  I understand enough Catalan to translate it, and there’s plenty of resources online to help me,  but the mental gymnastics I have to do translate from one grammar to the other is mindbending. A long list of de… de… de… de… might sound okay in Catalan, French or Spanish, but in English of… of… of… of… doesn’t flow. Then there are the technical terms that I have to accurately translate to make them meaningful. But I think this sort of saturation is good for learning a new language.

Well, I think I should get on with the translation now. Time’s a wasting!

5 thoughts on “Translating from Catalan

  1. Treegod, Much enjoy your post and so nice to see something from you. However, me being me ’tis quite impossible to just read and happily move on. Or, say a polite hello and go off in quiet…nope…silence wears on me like a hair shirt. And then there’s YOU, he who by his very nature just begs to be messed with. Congrats on your endeavours which sound truly time and effort well spent. But then, anyone that knows you would expect no less. Translating is a wonderful way to be of service and I would have not the least bit of concern of your Spanish, but that you consider your grasp of English sufficient to the task is what has me rolling round the floor grabbing my sides! The space in the rear of my car was not a trunk but a boot which really went on my feet and I drove around (not about ) peering through a screen ( not a windshield ) which really should have been on my windows at home to keep out bugs ( but no body seems to have thought of that yet ) while I drove on petrol ( not gas ) passed ( not overtook ) trucks ( not lorries ) while rolling down the highway ( not dual carriageway ) while searching for a carryout ( not takeaway) because I was hungry ( not peckish [ where DID that one come from] ). Yes, all this and I haven’t even gotten ( not got ) out of the car yet!! I remember some of the lawn referred to as ‘fiddley bits’ by the guy that ask me for spanners ( not pliers ) who now, interestingly enough is translating English!! With the environment and wildlife in peril enough as it is…could I contribute to the cause and buy you a dictionary? Thanks for letting me have some fun,
    Some ass ( not arse ) in America named,
    Charles 🙂

  2. It is difficult making it international, lol. Thankfully, it’s mostly technical with little room for colloquialisms!

    The only thing I wasn’t sure of was the “roadside verge” (green strip on street between road and pavement… sorry, sidewalk). It has several names, even within the US and UK. Since “roadside verge” is the name of its Wikipedia article, I decided to leave it at that.

    I did go through a list of words once that were “Britishisms” and “Americanisms”. I landed mostly on the British side, but a substantial part was American. I habitually find myself saying “trucks”. I blame US TV. 😛

    The English that most people learn round here is American, so I get barraged daily with trucks, trash, chips and fries, not lorries, rubbish, crisps and chips. To be honest, I think they’d understand your accent more than mine!

    • Thanks for the note…just couldn’t resist a jab at you but I believe you call it Mickey? Never was sure on that one. As to the ‘green strip’…just around the part of Ohio I live it is known as the ‘devil’s strip’. Weird. They have had articles written on that but even elderly residents can’t tell you why. I like too your last paragraph…funny 🙂 Have you email? Mine is same. Return to 7Oaks for Sept. Can not wait been too long.

  3. “taking the mickey” it is. 🙂 (in Spanish they “take hair”, in the same way that we “pull legs.”)

    I do have email. I think you have it. I’ll write TO you soon (or as you would say, I’ll write you soon). You can tell me about 7Oaks. 🙂

    • Thanks for clarifying Mickey, has anyone a clue how that one evolved? No idea why, but these little bitty things intrigue me. Will await address…cheers! <~~ one I got from you!

Leave a Reply

